**REVIEW** Penance (Dark Alpha #5) short story by Alisa Woods

Today is the release of the penultimate of this new adult, paranormal romance, short story series, Dark Alpha, with PENANCE. If you haven’t already, alpha lovers, you’ve got to check out this hot, passionate series with plenty of action and conflict. It is definitely a must-read, 5* series, as was the previous series, True Alpha!

Penance (Dark Alpha 5)Title: Penance (Dark Alpha #5)

Author: Alisa Woods

Genre: New Adult, paranormal romance

Release date: March 16th, 2015

Released by: Sworn Secrets Publishing

Length: 60 pages

Blurb: Shifters live in the shadows of Seattle, just under the skin of the alpha male, dot-com billionaires who are building a new Silicon Valley in the Emerald City.

Jak’s plan is a dangerous one… but will he even get the chance to carry it out?

Is love stronger than magic? Or will breaking an unbreakable bond destroy them both? 

Contains strong sexual themes/language and is meant for readers over 18.


After the initial escape from Mace (Arianna’s unwanted mate and alpha) in the last instalment, entitled Escape, it is Jak’s every intention to ensure the safety of Arianna and her family from Mace’s wrath. Even if it means he has to give up his own life to do so. The heat is on, but Jak has a plan, or does he?

Without Arianna’s knowledge, Jak is to give himself to a witch in return for her to cast a spell to rid Arianna of Mace’s magic bond to her. This should enable Arianna to live her own life, have her own pups, without Mace ever being able to have a hold on her or any child/shifter she bears.

The opening scenes are with Jak and Circe, the witch who is to carry out the spell. But first, she wants her taste of Jak’s HOT wolf.  This scene is intense, dark and will certainly make the reader feel just as sickened as Jak is. We know he is desperately in love with Arianna, and that’s what the reader has to keep reminding themselves. That is why he is doing this. He needs the assurance that Arianna and her family will be kept safe. She needs to be unmated from Mace. But, will the deal with Circe go according to plan? Will the witch carry out her spell, or is she just using him to have her wicked way with him?

Meanwhile, Arianna is wondering where on earth he is, and what errand is taking him so long. She is sure he is in trouble. What if he can’t reach her, can’t get back to her? She knows the lengths that Mace will go to in order to get her back and seek revenge:-

“… Mace isn’t just any mate – he’s a bastard dark alpha. He’ll tear through anything and anyone who stands between him and what he wants, and he really doesn’t care who he has to kill to do it.”

During the course of Penance, Arianna learns of her family’s help in trying to rescue her, and she wonders why everyone is helping her. There’s Jak, her brothers, Sarra…. After all she has betrayed her bonded mate and alpha, and yet they accept her, and what is happening, even though their lives are at risk. But, she’s come this far – she can’t go back, and she couldn’t have stayed!

With another 5* instalment, Alisa Woods‘ writing is simply amazing. With surprising turns in the story, strong characters and great fluidity this is a fantastic read. As with every episode thus far, there is so much packed into these short stories, not just with the storyline and action, but with the character building and their emotions – it really is hard to put down. And, you’ll be begging for more!

To find out what happens you’re going to have to check out Penance for yourself! But one thing is certain – it isn’t the end until the final instalment, released on March 30th, 2015, which is also when the complete box set of Dark Alpha will be released for you to enjoy back-to-back episodes! I can’t wait for Book 6, and for Alisa Woods‘ future releases!

A copy of Penance was provided by the author in return for a fair and honest review.

Penance (Dark Alpha #5) is available at Amazon US and Amazon UK.

Reviewed by Caroline Barker

To find out more info of the previous instalments of Dark Alpha, as well as Alisa Woods‘ first series, True Alpha, along with reviews, please check them all out below:-

Desired (True Alpha #1) – short story

Guarded (True Alpha #2) – short story

Hunted (True Alpha #3) – short story

Captured (True Alpha #4) – short story

Sacrificed (True Alpha #5) – short story

Claimed (True Alpha #6) – short story

A True Alpha Christmas – novella – stand alone short story

Torment (Dark Alpha #1) – short story

Pleasure (Dark Alpha #2) – short story

Deception (Dark Alpha #3) – short story

Escape (Dark Alpha #4) – short story

About Caroline Barker

I am a happily engaged mother of three and I absolutely love to read and write. Therefore, I am setting up a book blog in the hope to influence some readers out there!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.